Saturday Spotlight Twenty One – Summer Styles

Well, here I am back in Bonnie Scotland! I’ve been staying with my broadbandically-challenged grandmother, so posting wasn’t really on the cards until I came home to my mum’s for the weekend. So far I’ve been taking full advantage of my good friend BT by catching up on all my blogs, and browser window shopping to my heart’s content.

Unfortunately, though, I’m having the same problem I always have when it comes to shopping: which is that I’m hopeless at it. It’s not that I don’t know what I like; just that I have no idea how to put my taste into practice. I never really learned how to do the whole wardrobe-coordination thing and I always feel so lost when it comes to expanding it. If any of my style-savvy readers have any handy hints, I’d love to hear them; and if any of you have the same problem I’d also love to know I’m not alone, so please, help!

As for now, since I had to discard a lot of clothes to conform to EasyJet’s baggage allowance on Sunday, and since I’m finally properly earning again, my plan is to seriously assess the clothes I still have, ditch anything I think is dragging down the whole ensemble, and work out what I’m left with and how I want to add to it. This step involves identifying which trends I want to get in on this summer, which I’m doing online although I plan to do the actual buying in real shops when I’m in America. May the exchange rate be ever in my favour!

Trend No. 1: Orange

Oh so orange!

Orange seems to be a popular colour these days, and while it’s always intimidated me a little, I’m finding it more and more attractive by the day. I started small, with orange nail polish and a couple of pieces of jewellery; but I’m hoping to up the stakes with a summer shirt in a tangeriney shade. I have no idea if my skin and hair tones are a good match for orange, but whatever: I’m not going to deny myself this colour craving just because it’d look better on a tan brunette.

Trend No. 2: Neutral Bottoms

Who wears short shorts?

I’m working with a tourism company this summer, for which my uniform is a bright red t-shirt. I have precisely one pair of trousers that will look acceptable with this (I think my trouser count is down to the tan ones I’m wearing now and three very red-inappropriate ones: red jeans, floral pinky-green jeans and wide pink trousers), so I’m thinking of investing in a pair of white jean shorts and a cute black skirt. Just as long as it’s not too breezy – the last thing I need whilst attempting to collect guest data, operate the confusing handheld machine and sell tour tickets in two different languages, is a flyaway skirt!

Trend No. 3: Delicate pastels

I would never wear this jacket with the dumb t-shirt, but I would definitely wear it.

I’ve been going through a ‘dusty pink’ phase recently and I think it’s here to stay. I already have the trousers and accessories and I was this close to buying the above pink jacket in Galeries Lafayette. I’m aware that buying a pastelly pink top might well be overkill, but my love for dusty pink will never die! Mint green, primrose and baby blue are also definitely on the cards, although I’m not sure in what capacity they’ll feature in my new look. I guess we’ll have to wait and see what I find!

Trend No. 4: Summer dresses

I would probably spill ice cream on this immediately…

Summer dresses aren’t the smartest investment for a Scottish girl, but they make me feel so special and summery! I have a couple of day-dresses to wear in the summer, but I think I’ll indulge in one more to breeze around in while I’m in Ohio. I think I want a plain white one, with a brown leather belt, but I might be swayed by a bright, bold pattern. I’m also thinking I’ll need some heeled sandals to complete the look – I’m getting excited already!

What are you guys going to be wearing this summer? Any suggestions for how to work these styles?

Have a great week, and I’ll be back when I can. Lots of love!

Megan

xoxox

2 Comments

Filed under Saturday Spotlight

2 responses to “Saturday Spotlight Twenty One – Summer Styles

  1. I have to go shopping for some summer clothes and I am not looking forward to it. I a so fashion-challenged and I never know how to find clothes that fit. I’m hoping for a few cute t-shirts! :-)

    • Oh, I’m so glad it’s not just me! I’ll have Grant help me out with co-ordination (he’s actually so useful to shop with!) and hope for the best. Good luck with your own fashion challenge :P

Leave a Reply

