Saturday Spotlight Eleven – Songs I Love

Hi everyone! It’s late, I’m not in bed and I have to get up early tomorrow to go collect Grant from the airport :)

It’s strange to think that I’ll be welcoming him to Strasbourg, a place where I’ve been living for months now and I’ve built my own little scenario here. I wonder what he’ll make of it?

I listen to music a lot. I live far out from the city of Strasbourg so I spend a lot of time in public transport, going to and from places, and I don’t know many of my classmates so I listen to music as I wait for class to begin. I certainly wouldn’t say that I know much about music, but I will say that there are a few songs that I feel like I know in the same way as one knows a person. I don’t savoir them: I connaître them. I thought I’d share these songs with you because in the last few days I’ve had a few occasions where I’ve realised that the music I’m listening to has drastically changed my mood. These are songs that I love, songs that make me feel a certain way, songs that bring back a certain moment, songs that I want to put in totally inappropriate playlists because I love them so much. I hope you enjoy!

Counting Crows – Accidentally In Love

Who knows why I love this song so much? I certainly can’t explain it. It’s punchy, it’s upbeat and it reminds me of Shrek. The lyrics don’t try too hard, but they’re coherent (unlike certain more recently released songs I could name, Train) and they get a simple point across with dignity. The whole thing is just so much fun, and it’s an idea that anyone can relate to. This is number one on my workout playlist, and every time I start warming up, I have this song accompanying me on my two minutes of jogging, and it’s just the ticket to get me in the mood. Who doesn’t want to smile when they hear this song come on?

Regina Spektor – Braille

I know Regina Spektor is kind of a polarising artist. I personally think most of her work is fantastic, but I know a lot of people find her ‘too’ quirky. That’s fair enough, no judgement here. But please listen to this song of hers. One of the things I love most about Spektor’s entire body of work is the play between simplicity and complexity that surrounds her songs. Her vocals tend to be fancy, her accompaniment simple; and the lyrics are always complex. She makes references (which I never manage to understand) to literature and to important figures in history, and many of her songs seems to not just be ‘about something’ but to really investigate an issue and explore it thoroughly. This particular song is just a song about a girl, and it doesn’t have any references to anything obscure: it’s simple as simple comes, and I think it’s just beautiful. When I was in high school I had to write prose fiction for my English class and just could not find a point to get started, so I decided to choose a song and it was this one. My short story (which I may yet decide I want to share on here) ended up going in an unpredictable direction, but it was strongly inspired by this song and only the fear of being done for plagiarism (and the fear of being a little cheesy) stopped me from lifting lines right out of this song and putting them in at the end. Especially ‘trying to decipher what’s written in Braille upon my skin’.

UB40 – Red Red Wine

I gained a new appreciation for this song recently. I’ve always liked a good bit of reggae, and these guys make it accessible. I like the guy’s distinctive voice, and one day I started listening to the bass part of this song and began to really see how the whole song fits together. Red Red Wine is a song that is cool to hang with when you first meet it, and then when you really listen, there’s so much more to it than you thought, and your whole relationship with it will change. Sorry if that makes me sound like a hippy. But seriously, go for it: I dare you to try it out! :P

The Peatbog Faeries – All About Windmills

There are videos for all sorts of Peatbog Faeries songs on YouTube: for some reason, though, All About Windmills doesn’t have its own video. Since I haven’t paid for the space upgrade to WordPress, I can’t upload it either, so I had to just link you to one video which uses All About Windmills as a soundtrack. It’s only half of the song, and it really really deserves to be listened to the whole way, so go here to listen on Spotify or whatever other music programs you may have, or download it on iTunes. For some weird reason, this seems to be one of their least popular songs, but for me there’s no question that it’s the best. I don’t think it’s because I’m Scottish, either: this piece of music is just pure happiness. You need to lie down and blow bubbles while you listen to this track. Every time I hear it, it takes me back to that hungover morning after a campout when I woke up, crawled out of my tent and found myself in the middle of the Scottish countryside, and I just lay for hours in the grass with my best friends, dreading the moment when we’d have to start making our separate ways back home to our parents and real life. Man, those were the days!

Ok, it’s getting late. Actually, that ship sailed a while ago, so I’ll leave this and go to bed. Tomorrow will be a big day! Listen, I apologise in advance if I end up being absent a little longer: I haven’t managed to get those posts scheduled to be published while Grant’s here, so I expect it’ll be a little while before I’m back on top of things here. As always. I just really hope I can catch up with Italy and then Grant’s visit and start writing about things that I think, things that I like, what’s happening in my day-to-day life, etc. Honestly, the busier I am doing things, the more I want to write about and the less time I have to write. I’m toying with the idea of just upgrading my WordPress already and doing a vlog post; only thing is, that sounds like it’d be totally less time-consuming but I bet it’d be just as bad, if not worse.

Ok, peace out y’all. Have a great weekend and a great week ahead!

Love,

Megan

xoxox

2 Comments

Filed under Saturday Spotlight

2 responses to “Saturday Spotlight Eleven – Songs I Love

  1. Gerard Madill

    Ćao Megan.
    Enjoyed your post and the songs. What, no Clash? (I blame the parents!)
    You might find it hard to believe, but I hadn’t heard ‘Accidentally in love’ before, but I like your assessment of it. Thanks for re-acquainting me with Regina Spektor – I like her voice and her unconventional singing/phrasing – quirky’s good, as far as I’m concerned. After all, I was a fan of Lena Lovich! (See link for one of my old favourites – I used to have ‘Stateless’, but it went missing during a flit…) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJRGdQSvwjU Enjoy!
    Hearing Regina again reminds me fondly of long car journeys with you and Colm. As does listening to the Peatbog Faeries. Thanks for that! :)
    Nice segue from ‘Cold Campbells’ to my old pals the Campbell brothers from UB40, btw!
    Don’t forget to tell Grant I was asking for him.
    Sretan vikend!
    All my love,
    Dad
    xoxo

  2. All great songs! :-) That Counting Crows song is one of my favorite – it came up on my iPod the other day and I sang along like a total idiot. I love it! :-)

Leave a Reply

