PinAddicts Challenge, March 2012

I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaack!!!!!

Did you miss me?! I missed you. All of you. A lot.

So I went to Italy for a week and it was totally crazy. We were so busy all the time, seeing things and doing things and eating things and photographing things… Then yesterday morning we arrived on our international bus at 4:30 am and the trams hadn’t started yet because it was a Sunday and it was kind of awful. Plus, from all that close proximity with other people, I have developed a nasty cold. It really is very unfortunate.

BUT! Glad tidings, my friends! I am proud (and relieved) to announce that today I completed the most appropriate project possible for this sad news I just recounted to you. It’s the first Monday of the month again, which means #PinAddicts  is go! So I made a big push to finish this Grecian Rib scarf I’ve been working on forever. I will now be warm and toasty even in this cold, miserable Strasbourg weather. :) (It’s actually a fair bit warmer than it was before I left, but Italy was scorching so I’ve been spoiled).

The pattern comes from The Purl Bee, blog of the yarn shop Purl Soho in NYC

Unfortunately my own picture of the scarf is far less than adequate, as I finished it after nightfall and it’ll be artificial lighting all the way. Plus I’m a horrific model because I’m all bunged up with the cold. But now that I have my scarf, that cold had better watch its back! I’m so glad to be finished with this project as it proves that a lot of patience and diligence can really pay off: and both of those traits are works in progress as far as I’m concerned. This pattern was also the perfect level of difficulty for me, as I’ve never ventured beyond scarves in my knitting endeavors before but the Grecian Rib stitch was new to me, so it was still a challenge. Plus, I’ve never finished a scarf before because I’ve never found a pattern that’s managed to keep me motivated, but this one was so simply elegant that I was determined to finish it up before winter was over. And sadly, it seems that in Strasbourg winter is not yet over.

Please ignore my dishevelled appearance. I do not look like this when I am healthy!

So that’s this month’s pin crossed off the list. Of course, I’ve pinned several other projects in the meantime, so my ‘to do’ list of projects is still accumulating, but I love how this monthly challenge redefines how I think about the projects I pin in the first place. Plus, it feels good just to know that you really are making the things you’ve admitted to yourself that you want to make, instead of just wistfully pinning away with no real hope of ever achieving any of it.

This month’s #PinAddicts linkup is over on Melksham Mum‘s blog – time to head over there and check out what everyone else is making! Then back to class tomorrow… eugh. I hope I can shake the worst of this cold overnight. Another cup of tea and then bed is my prescription for myself.

All the best to all the best! (Because you guys are all the best, you see).

Nighty night and please wish me healing thoughts,

Megan

xoxox

23 Comments

Filed under Crafts

23 responses to “PinAddicts Challenge, March 2012

  1. Gerard Madill

    Well done, Megan, it looks just like the one in the other picture! Hope you’re feeling better soon. Laku noć!

  2. Welcome back!!! Love the scarf, i soooo wish i could knit! I have a whole post dedicated to my mixed feelings about pinterest… how can a thing be of the heavens and hell at the same time?!? Anyways, love the scarf and happy to see you back in blogland. Feel better soon!!!!!!

    • Thanks Jenny, I don’t want to jinx it but I think I am feeling a little better today, spirits-wise at least. No more flu-depression for me! I feel like I maybe haven’t read that post of yours? But at the same time, that seems impossible because I read all of them… Anyway, thanks, I’m really proud of myself for finishing it and will be taking it for a test drive today! Lots of love :)

  3. oh my gosh it is STUNNING!!!!!!!!!!! you are so clever!! looks awesome on you.

    Thanks so much for linking up with us! xx

    • The pleasure is all mine! I’m so glad to have found this challenge :) Thanks for the kind remarks too, I’ve been working on it for ages at the expense of my studies :/ so I’m proud to have finally got it finished.

  4. Thats gorgeous! Well done you. Looks fab. x

    • Thank you! It’s not as stunning as the original, which calls for four skeins of 4-ply Mongolian cashmere at $50 a skein… But I’m still really happy with it. Maybe one day I’ll have the cash to splash on ridiculously luxury yarn, but for now it’s scratchy man-made fibres all the way!

  5. Beautiful scarf! :-)

    I have developed a full-blow pinterest addiction. I can’t get enough of upcycle projects. I swear my entire house is getting an overhaul in the name of upcycle design!

  6. Ooooh a beautiful scarf for a beautiful lady. This is pinned on my board too but I downed knitting needles a long time ago and have forgotten how to cast on – oops!
    It looks very chunky and warm and the tapered ends are fab.
    Thanks for linking up! x x

    • Well good luck when you do attempt it! The nice thing about it is that it’s just repetitive enough to bring back those knitting skills, yet not quite so repetitive as to be a bore. Have fun!

  7. Woop :) Well done, that’s looking great! Glad you’re feeling a bit better now, hope you feel even better soon!

  8. It is a beautiful scarf, and I hope that you feel better soon. I also keep pinning projects faster than I can keep up with them!

    • Thanks very much! It’s just a bit of the cold, I’m really making far too big a deal out of it :P I think pinning more than you do is okay, the idea behind Pinterest is an inspiration thing anyway!

  9. You look lovely in the photo and so does your scarf! It’s fab, I really wish I could knit x

    • Thanks very much for your kind comments! Unfortunately the ends like to curl up a bit, so it was difficult to get a photo that showed off the narrowing ends. Maybe it’ll straighten out as I wear it?

  10. That is a fab scarf… might have to find it to pin to my board of just relearning to knit a few weeks ago! Good job! xx

    • Thanks Kerry! I saw it on the original blog post and I could not resist. It’s not too difficult, I may have let loose a few curse words to start off with but once you get the hang of it it’s very repetitive and there are no nasty surprises halfway through!

  11. This is lovely, must have taken a while!

Leave a Reply

