PinAddicts Challenge, February 2012

Hi everyone. Good weekend?

 

A few weeks back I came across this blog post about the PinAddicts challenge, and I thought “Fantastic! I’m not the only one out there who bookmarks dozens of cool craft projects and never realizes any of them!” So I signed up on the spot.

The basic idea is super simple, although I’m not all that clear on the ins and outs of the blogging part of it. You just pick one thing that you’ve pinned, every month, and make it. Then I think you blog about it and link to the original post. Which is what I’m doing now! I’d already made my geometric shape garland when I moved in, but it was about time to cross something else off the list.

This project took forever to finish, but it was totally worth it! Picture links to tutorial at Mini-Eco.

You guys all know that my semester-here, semester-there situation doesn’t really allow for a stockpile of crafty supplies; and my current kitchen facilities won’t accommodate any grand adventures in gastronomy, either; so I stuck to paper crafts, especially ones I can make with my one copy of Le Monde newspaper :)

The finished piece! Again, picture links to HowAboutOrange's tutorial.

I made this striped heart garland entirely out of newspaper to begin with, but, being double-sided, that didn’t exactly show off the two-toned nature of the design. So, when I toddled off to the market on Saturday and the marchand wrapped up my half-cake of camembert in a pretty wrapper that was plain white on one side and pink-checked on the other, I made some adjustments to the original. Now I have a pink love-heart garland that’s cheesy in every sense of the word! Boom boom.

Another cute wee addition to my ever-evolving room :)

The garland is super easy: I’m not sure if it can technically be called origami because you have to cut your paper square in half before you start, but it’s very simple paper-folding, anyway. I finished mine in about half an hour.

I think I would like to learn to make paper cranes, and make a mobile out of them or something. I heard someone (was it you, Sarah?) mention a friend who hung a whole bunch of paper cranes from the ceiling of her room at uni; and I can’t resist a good copycatting opportunity, especially if it involves paper crafts.

So that’s what I’ve been up to of late, apart from daydreaming, watching Gossip Girl (I know…) and, ahem, studying. If you’re on Pinterest, or are thinking of joining, you can follow me or any of my boards (crafts, recipes, home decor, party ideas, style and giftwrap) if you want to keep up with my latest ‘must-bookmarks’. And you can even get involved in the challenge by signing up on the original post page and giving your Pinterest username. As I said, I’m not exactly sure how the linkup works, but I’ll let you know next month if I figure it out. Til then!

Just in time for Valentine's Day! Too bad my valentine is in Ohio and I'll be spending the evening alone...

Bests,

Megan

P.S. I took a couple of pictures of my room while I was photographing my crafty exploits. They’re nothing special, just some snapshots, but this wee room doesn’t leave much space for artsiness :P

I didn't even clean up for you. For shame.

And dishes left in the sink, too. Where are my manners?

24 Comments

Filed under Crafts, France

24 responses to “PinAddicts Challenge, February 2012

  1. Yes! Very well remembered. Her cousin made chains of them when she was in hospital and then distributed them to my flatmate and her other cousins. Very cute! I do love those geometric shapes, slightly mindbending but so interesting :)

  2. They are so cute…My girls would love these!

    • Thanks! They’re super easy too. It requires some accurate folding, but I’d say it’d be suitable for 7 and up with an adult helping hand.

      I dunno though, I’m terrible at judging ages and abilities. I thought the 3-D shape garland above would be totally my 10-year-old brother’s type of thang. Turns out either I’m a useless judge of capabilities, or he has terrible hand-eye coordination. :P

  3. Those hearts are very pretty! I’ve not done any paper crafting so may have to investigate this further.
    If you want to be part of #pinaddicts next month I’ll be hosting the linky on the first Monday in March x x

    • I would totally love to – I’ll have to see how I do with the whole project-completion thing, though. I’m studying abroad this semester so I don’t have access to a lot of tools.
      I’ll keep my eyes peeled for feasible projects, and hope to see you next month!
      xx

  4. Oh this is Brilliant!! Love the use of the cheese paper too !!Thanks for entering – awesome :)

    • Haha, yes, the French cheese merchants know me so well… Thanks for hosting and for coming up with the idea! It’s a gem, as I’m sure you’ve realised from the massive amount of interest!

  5. Love those hearts. I might try and make some with my daughter. They are so pretty. x

  6. I love the geometric garland! So eclectic and cute! And wow, the hearts are really impressive too! Well done you… i keep seeing signs that i should join pinterest… but I’ve managed to hold out for so long, i just don’t know…

    • Pinterest is a cool way of following what other crafters/foodies/designers are up to – it’s a bit like Twitter but more image-centric. I’ve found a lot of great projects on there, and I’ve managed to keep my ‘addiction’ meter in the green part of the scale! But if you decide it’s not for you, I’ll just keep posting random crafty links on your Facebook wall :P

  7. P.S. your room is cute. Do you have a private toilet/sink, but have to share showers??

    • Thanks! :D I’ve done my best to really make it mine this time. Thank you for inspiring me :)

      I actually just have the sink, and the showers and toilets are both shared. It’s handy for makeup, brushing teeth, etc., and I’m right across the hall from the toilets, so it’s all good!
      xxx

  8. I <3 your heart garland. :-)

    I've been thinking about checking out Pinterest as this is about the fifth place I've come across a mention of it in the last few days. That's more than just coincidence. ;-)

  9. I love them! I might have to give them a go too with my little girl :) x

  10. Love this heart garland! Thanks for joining in with PinAddicts. Love discovering new blogs x

    • Haa, I’m just so glad I found the post in the first place! Such a brilliant idea, for discovering new crafts and meeting new bloggers! Thanks for reading and commenting :)
      xx

  11. Hi Megan,
    I am sure your Valentine must be melting at this time :))) A beautiful garland all hearts…naaaa, no way.
    Ah and your portuguese is just fine, it was a wonderful surprise to have a comment on my blog from you in portuguese. Let me just answer: Benvinda ao meu blog sempre que quiseres :)))
    Let’s pin :)))

  12. I love these, how perfect for valentines

    • Thanks! I’ve been bitten by the love bug and can’t stop making heart-shaped things lately – it’s really quite embarrassing. But who cares?! I’m a girly girl and proud :P

      Thanks for stopping by :)
      M xoxo

Leave a Reply

