Episode Forty Two – Día de la Madre

It wasn’t long after I arrived here that we made our first little trip. Destination: Zarcero. Or, more precisely, Bernardita’s parents’ farm a little past Zarcero. The climate there is like that of Monteverde: green, chilly, draped in fog. When the mists cleared – rarely for longer than 20 minutes or so – the mountainous landscape was impressive to behold, and it felt very natural, fresh and rural.

It was a farm, after all.

Mum's favourite little critters!

Bernardita’s family is large. She has about seven brothers and sisters, and with all of them plus their own partners and children, the house and grounds were packed and rowdy. Still, I was given my own room for the night while the kids camped out in the living room; and I enjoyed quite a lot of conversation with Bernardita’s many sociable sisters. Magaly even taught me a recipe for arrolladitos de cebolla!

The scenery was almost Scottish!

Monday was Mothers’ Day, and the kids left the grown-ups in peace and quiet for a few hours by heading down to a nearby and apparently frequented waterfall to play. I went with them, grateful for a rest from the clamoured conversation in the house. On our adventures we trudged through muddy fields, evaded electric fences and ate guavas from trees before finally reaching the famous stream. To the kids’ disappointment, I stayed well clear and took photos while they splashed, squealed, hurled mud around and constructed makeshift dams from rocks and tree branches.

The kids scolded me when I picked up a guava from the ground. All young ticos know to only eat fruit they've picked themselves.

I do miss those carefree days when it was fine to get soaked to the skin and clarty; I’m pretty sure those days did exist, down at the stream next to our own house in St. Boswells. When did I start to get so scared of the sniffles, and of the discomfort of mud caked on my skin and hair?

I was in awe of their lack of concern.

Just the thought of it makes my skin crawl, so I don’t regret my decision not to go in the water. And taking the photos and keeping them and displaying them on my blog and in my scrapbook is the sort of thing that gives me joy now; so I’ll take it. I’m considering using the photos to put together a keepsake for my host family to give to them when I leave; either in the form of a photo album, scrapbook or photo box. I’m glad to be able to do something nice for them and really enjoy the process.

I took about 500 pictures that day. (I later sifted out the best hundred).

So for now, standing on the side lines and taking pictures will do me just fine. Maybe one day though, when I have my own kids, my own hot shower and my own nearby stream, I’ll find the serenity to go out with them and have a good old mucky time.

They were so focused on blocking up the water they didn't even seem to notice the muck.

Grant can hold the camera.

Looking forward to hearing from you all,

Megan.

3 Comments

Filed under Costa Rica

3 responses to “Episode Forty Two – Día de la Madre

  1. Gerard Madill

    Hi Megan – as usual, I enjoyed that. Sweet, but short!
    Love,
    Dad
    xoxo

    • Sweet but short, or short but sweet? There’s a marked difference, you know.

      I’m trying a new style of blogging which involves shorter blog posts and hopefully more of them. I’ve been reading a lot of Grant’s xanga lately and have decided that the sizeable chunks are better than long essays for when I come to look back on my life. It’s a trail of breadcrumbs, not whole loaves! Besides, only people who REALLY care about what I’m doing will make it to the end of one of those novelas. I think it’s conducive to reaching more people if I make it a little more accessible.

      Thanks for your comment though, even if you did mean ‘sweet but short’ rather than ‘short but sweet’. It’s always good to see that someone enjoyed the post enough to put the time into replying.

      • Gerard Madill

        Hi Megan – you know me, I usually choose my words carefully. I did mean ‘sweet, but short’! I like your long posts. But maybe that’s just me…

Leave a Reply

