Episode Twenty Four – A Fathers’ Day Card Tutorial

Hello to everyone, for the third time this week! I am such a good little blogger these days!

So today I just want to point you to Scrap-A-Little.com where Helen has posted a brilliant tutorial on how to make an origami shirt-and-tie Fathers’ Day card. I spent quite a while looking for a design I could make myself that wasn’t too cheesy or small-child-y to make for my dad and Grant’s. I love this one because you can play up the cute factor or you can tone it down and make it more suave.

Yes, ‘suave’ is exactly how I would describe mine. I was originally going to post my own tutorial to this card, but a) there’s nothing wrong with the original so there would be no point, and b) I left a comment saying I wanted to reblog this but didn’t get the go-ahead so I think I’d be better off just linking you there than trying to recreate it. I will show you the pictures of the two cards I made, though, and share a couple of tips.

This was my first shot at it and I'm pretty pleased with the result!

As you can see, it’s not perfect: when I made this first one the tie didn’t sit properly so I decided to make two ‘subtle’ incisions at the part where the collar meets the rest of the shirt. They ended up being more visible than I’d anticipated – don’t do it. And in the second one below, the paper I used to make the shirt was wayyyy too thick. The tutorial specifies thin paper, but I thought I could totally handle the thicker stuff. And I handled it fine – it was the card that couldn’t take it. It sort of buckled a little bit under the collar and, although it’s not so obvious in the picture, the bottom of the shirt as well as a couple of bits around the collar are slightly ripped because the paper couldn’t withstand the intense folding. Duh. So learn the lesson – when she says use thin paper, just listen! It’s not because she thinks you’re not man enough, it’s because sometimes it just doesn’t work. I got away with it in the first one I made – paper I used for the shirt and tie for that one were pretty thick too – but you’re really better off with much thinner stuff.

...and I loved it so much I made it again!

Another pointer I wanted to give you was that if you’re using eyelets or brads or whatever like I did, it’s a nice idea to make the basic card itself out of a sheet of A4 and quarter it. That way you can hide the back of the eyelets when the card is open because of the two layers. I just used thick-ish laid paper from Paperchase, folded into four, and for the second card I used a glue stick to stick the two layers together once the eyelets were already hammered in. But that was because I accidentally did the design upside-down so when you opened the card the fold of the flap was at the bottom, not the top. Still, it might be worth doing. As for the letters, I just copied the design from a pack of stickers I have. I started with the “Fathers'” in the middle – measured a 1.5cm-wide horizontal line in the centre, stuck masking card on either side and marked the masking card where each letter should begin and end (my card was 9cm wide so I used 1cm for every letter and 2mm in between, with a space at the end for the apostrophe). I just did the “Happy” and the “Day” freehand – it’s not too tough if you’re careful.

And lastly, a heads up on sticking it all together. This might not apply if you follow my earlier advice and use thin paper – but I’ll say it anyway. PVA (at least my brand) takes too long to dry – use superglue or a hot glue gun to glue the tie to the shirt, and maybe the shirt to the mount. A glue stick is fine for glueing the mount to the card itself. Also, if you’re using my design where the shirt is mounted, stick the mount to the base card before the shirt goes on. That’s because the shirt is 3-D, and affixing the flat mount which would otherwise be glue-stickable becomes a lot tougher if there’s a chunky piece of origami clinging to the other side. So. Mount > card using glue stick, tie > shirt using glue gun, shirt > mount, preferably with glue gun. Then you can add brads or eyelets like I did, but remember that they’ll show up on the other side. If you’re using the quartered-A4 method, make sure you only put the eyelets through the ‘outside’ layer of the card.

Then write your good old dad a heartfelt message and voilà!

He’ll love it, I promise.

Stay tuned for more later!

Megan.

x

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts

Leave a Reply

