Episode Fifteen – Exciting New Developments

Hello to you all and happy buildup-to-Christmas!

I just wanted to update you on a couple of things. Seeing as it’s insurmountable-essay-time again, I’ve been putting a lot of thought into anything that isn’t 19th-century Spanish literature – such as my Secret Mission and my blog. The Secret Mission is going well, you’ll be pleased to hear, but I’ve also re-jigged my whole WordPress, spent agonising hours searching for the perfect theme and the perfect header, and fiddled around with RSS feeds etc. I hope you like it!

You’ll remember I posted a while ago in a blind panic, unable to fathom the depths of the Internet. Well, good news! I’ve got it all figured out. Well, most of it, anyway. As far as RSS feeds go, it’s relatively simple. This video does a much better job at explaining it than I ever could, but I’ll give it a shot:

Basically, the whole point is this: seeing as the internet is getting more centred around blogging, updating and things that tend to change frequently, technology has had to expand to accommodate it. For example, if you tend to follow several different cooking blogs, find yourself constantly checking for new finance tips or band tour dates, it can be tedious to check six or seven different sites every day to see if there’s anything new. The idea of RSS (Really Simple Syndication) is that you can check one page which will tell you whether or not any of your sites have been updated. Most blogs and update-centred sites will show the little RSS sign, which will give you a link to their RSS feed.

In itself, the link to the feed does nothing – you can’t use it unless you have a feedreader. I use Google Reader, just because I already use Google Mail and Google Calendar, so it’s simple and I didn’t have to sign up to more things – but there are tons of feedreaders out there. I currently have subscriptions to the Etsy blog, the Storque, and The Owl and Lion blog. Maybe if I had more hobbies, I’d have a couple more… Anyway, your feedreader will have a way to add new RSS feeds – which, as I mentioned, can be obtained from the little buttons on the blog you want to subscribe to. To add an RSS feed, just right-click the orange button, click “Copy Link Address”, and paste it into your feedreader’s “New Subscription” box. Then sit back and let your favourite sites come to you.

So that’s that: Really Simple Syndication 101. Feel free to get started right away with the orange button at the top of my page, saying “Subscribe to Feed”!

You'll start noticing this little guy everywhere you go.

So there you go. That’s my first piece of news – I understand the internet and am using it to my advantage!!

My second piece of news is that I’ll be adding all my pictures from all my adventures to a second WordPress blog, which you’ll be able to access from this one once I’ve set it up. It’s annoying that I already bought my subscription to MobileMe for this year, which cost at least £50, when I won’t be using it much – but I want to start trying to keep all my stuff in the same place as much as possible. So watch this space for more of what you want to see!

Happy holidays to you all : ]

Megan.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Episode Fifteen – Exciting New Developments

  1. Pingback: Episode Twenty Seven – How to volunteer in Costa Rica | A Trail of Breadcrumbs

Leave a Reply

